Assembly Select Committee on Campus Climate

History and Background:

In 2014, Speaker John A. Pérez created the Assembly Select Committee on Campus Climate and appointed Assemblymember Shirley N. Weber to serve as Chair.  This select committee was formed to explore issues of diversity, tolerance, and student safety on California’s college campuses after a series of bias-motivated incidents, including a hate crime in 2013 at San Jose State University involving an African-American student.  In addition, the select committee seeks to examine public safety protocols and practices of California’s higher education institutions while exploring solutions to encourage campus safety and promote healthier campus climates.  The select committee’s mission is to ensure that the state’s college campuses are safe and welcoming environments for all students.

Members of the Select Committee for the 2019-20 Legislative Session:

Shirley N. Weber (Chair)

Richard Bloom

Wendy Carrillo

Todd Gloria

Sydney Kamlager-Dove

Tom Lackey

Marc Levine

Monique Limón

Eloise Gómez Reyes

Freddie Rodriguez


For more information, please contact Assemblymember Weber’s consultant to this select committee, Tiffaney Boyd at;